Gresham Smith Aviation Project Recognized by AIA Tampa Bay

11月 12, 2020

Gresham Smith is proud to announce that the firm’s design for the Charlotte Douglas International Airport (CLT) Terminal Lobby Expansion was honored with a Design Award in the Commercial Unbuilt category from the American Institute of Architects Tampa Bay chapter (AIA Tampa Bay). The project team accepted the award at AIA Tampa Bay’s Celebrate Design 2020 virtual celebration on Thursday, November 5.

“A key factor of this design was to provide an efficient solution to meet the growing demand of the airport, all while enhancing the passenger experience,” said Wilson Rayfield, AIA, LEED AP, Executive Vice President at Gresham Smith. “We’re excited our comprehensive work at CLT was recognized by an organization that celebrates the power of design to positively impact communities.”

CLT’s current terminal was designed to accommodate approximately 12 million passengers annually, however the airport saw over 44 million passengers in 2019. Gresham Smith’s 370,000-square-foot expansion and renovation to the terminal will support the airport’s growth while elevating the passenger experience. A statue of Queen Charlotte provided inspiration for the design, which pays homage to the Queen City’s rich local history and southern hospitality. Grand spaces that reference the statue’s movement are balanced by clean, understated modernism. Leading floor patterns and intuitive wayfinding will enhance circulation, while expanded security check points and baggage claims will reduce wait times. A 146,000 square-foot curbside canopy will protect arriving passengers and overhead and subterranean walkways will allow visitors to bypass airport roadways. Using a five-year phasing plan, the exterior canopy and pedestrian bridges will be constructed over an active roadway and the terminal will remain fully functional throughout the project.

AIA Tampa Bay’s annual design program honors excellence in design by the architectural profession and industry participants. With juries composed of highly-qualified professionals, these awards are intended to promote public consciousness of the built environment through distinguished works of architecture.